PastePotPete

Comics…Deconstructed

The Lightning Saga: WTF????

jla9 jsa6 jsa5

No spoilers here. Promise.  I hate when comics fanboys assume that everyone reads the latest issues the moment they arrive.  Some of us actually take a while to get caught up on certain story arcs, or just wait for a month’s worth of books to arrive in the mail (right Peat Muppet?).  In any case, this was not intended to be a rant about spoilers, but instead a rant about the recent JLA/JSA/Legion crossover event The Lighting Saga.  I think my title for this post expresses my view on this particular storyline.

Was it just me, or was this story almost impenetrable? Sometimes I thought there was too much going on, but other times there didn’t seem to be much of a story at all.  The ONLY redeeming factor was the Geoff Johns JSA issues, and even they served only to interrupt the ongoing story he’s been creating there over the past few months.

And what about the ending (again, no spoilers…)???  Is this what was supposed to happen, a happy/unhappy accident or just plain out bad writing (or all three, for that matter)?  It seems too early for a massive crossover in two books which are just getting their footing again.  Wait a year or more before trying this again, guys.

Overall Rating (out of 10):  5 (JLA Issues), 6 (JSA Issues)

July 23, 2007 - Posted by | comic books, Comics, Reviews

1 Comment »

  1. I read the JLA issues, because I was buying the title. I just couldn’t afford to add JSA for a few months to collect the entire story. That always bothered me in the 90s…crossovers with other comics that I wasn’t buying already. Anyway, the story sometimes lost me, because I was only getting half of it, and I’m not too familiar with the Legion characters. I ended up cutting JLA from my pull list right after this arc…

    Comment by Shumac | August 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

