PastePotPete

Comics…Deconstructed

Brubaker + Epting – Cap = Totally Cool

Cap28pg00

Ed Brubaker continues to amaze me with his writing on this book. I mean, who else could get away with producing a completely riveting (and complicated) story arc without the title character? There just doesn’t seem to be any lame concept in Captain America’s past that Brubaker cannot infuse with total cool. This issue featured a newly-restored Serpent Society, and again Brubaker took these fairly useless villains and made them ruthless and horrifying.

Steve Epting’s gritty, realistic art hearkens back to even the legendary Steranko, and coupled with the fantastic storytelling there are really few negatives I can find.

I was a latecomer to this newest Cap series, but I’m glad I’ve finally caught up.

Overall Rating (out of 10): 9

July 22, 2007 - Posted by | Captain America, comic books, Comics, Marvel Comics, Reviews

1 Comment »

  1. I agree. I actually didn’t start reading this title until around the issues where Cap was “killed”. It had been constantly suggested to me, but I was never really interested in reading a solo Cap book. Yeah, I had some from years ago when I was a kid. But for some reason, I can’t seem to get into the solo books of Cap, Iron Man, and Thor…now in Avengers, I love them! So, I gave Cap a shot and I have been blown away. Each issue has been getting better and better…and all of them lacking their title character! Brubaker and Epting have me hooked. One more thing…Epting’s art is such a massive improvement over what I saw in the late 90s on Avengers and X-Factor!

    Comment by Shumac | August 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

